Skip to content

Something for Me

October 9, 2013

For only the second time in over 30 years of theatregoing, over the summer I had a ticket for a performance cancelled before I even got to the theatre. In fact, I only got 2 hours notice, which left me all ready to go out… with nowhere much to go.

Now, I was in a dilemma. There’s always plenty I want to see, and even more I know I should see… but won’t get round to. So, a sudden gap in the schedule. Chimerica? A Doll’s House? The Cripple of Innishman?

You know what, none of them. I’d already seen a preview of “A Chorus Line,” and knew that it would be the only opportunity I’d have for many years to see a professional version of one of the greatest shows ever, in one of the greatest theatres ever, with one of the best casts ever.

In other words, yes, I went to see it again. And you know what, it felt great. It’s rare I get to see a show “just for me.” No checking sightlines, no real need to review (though I did update my review anyway, with my thoughts this time, more than the ‘professional’ hat on).

Sometimes, I need a reminder how good going for fun really can be. I wonder how many others who work in the industry ever feel the same?

Comments are closed.

