Skip to content

Defeeting a Generation.

June 19, 2013

I’m tempted, very tempted. What the HECK is wrong with them today? Kathleen Jennings was let off in 2007, but I’m wondering if six months hard labour might have been a better national deterrent.

What am I talking about? Putting feet up on seats that other people have to sit on. That’s what I’m talking about. Sorry, but WE (and by that, I mean those in my peer group who remember “O” levels) were constantly told to “get those feet off seats” when we were in primary school – and the message stuck.

Today, it’s “feet up” everywhere. Never by the old, but from what I’ve noticed, by those who might be given the title “Generation Blair” – all ‘rights’ and no ‘responsibilities.’ On the tube, on buses and, what of course got me fired up, at “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” last week.

Actually, there was nearly “divine retribution” in that case, as one of the little offenders nearly took a header over the front of the upper circle while climbing back to its seat from the row behind… yeah, kid, these seats tip up…

… No, I’m not really that nasty, and I didn’t want that to happen to the brat (it would have caused the performance to be cancelled for the rest of us), but it would have fitted the theme of the show at least, I guess.

What’s the cause, though? The obvious is “discipline” of course, and I could add the hours of watching sloppy teenagers do it on TV, but I’ve another idea; and it isn’t that young knees need to support tablet computers at the right angle either.

Nope, I blame the advent of small houses and reclining chairs. Back in my day (you remember, when it were all green fields etc, etc), they were bigger and non-existent, respectively.

Now, kids are stuck in bedrooms without space for a chair, so they have to lie on beds. If they do descend to any family room, chances are those generous credit pushers at DFS have equipped it with a reclining seat or two.

In other words, if we don’t provide the equipment to allow them to practice constantly keeping their feet pointing in the right direction, what else can we expect? Well, that’s my theory anyway, and I’m sticking to it – at 90 degrees to the perpendicular, of course.

Comments are closed.

