Skip to content

Different audiences.

April 17, 2013

Following on from my last post, an Austrian friend was complaining to me about Austrian theatre audiences. He reports that they “giggle when nothing is funny, they talk when everything is silent and they go crazy when someone they know, went onstage!”

He also sent me a link to the Austrian version of “Legally Blonde” (inexplicably dubbed “Naturally Blonde” – as he remarked, sounding like a hair dye – over there). Quite honestly, from that, you can’t blame some of the behaviour as it bore no resemblance to the pink champagne of the London hit.

Anyway, it made me fairly glad about London audiences. Yes, they are sometimes a pain (as discussed last week, why anyone needs to check a phone every 5 minutes is beyond me, unless they are a doctor on call / waiting for a transplant) but in general they do laugh when they are supposed to and stay quiet most of the time.

Even the crazy fans at “Book of Mormon” treat it with cathedral reverence rather than miss a moment. Mind, the sight of an over-excited fan almost running over an usher to be first through the door (half an hour before the show started) is one I won’t forget in a while.

I also actually felt sorry for one young woman sitting next to me at “The Shed” last weekend. No, not because she had to sit next to me (so stop sniggering). I mean, because she had a “post-nasal cough” that she was desperately (and successfully) trying to keep under control during the first half. During the interval, she bought a drink and arrived back with it in a plastic cup. Finishing it before the play re-started, about 15 minutes into the second half, she very quietly reached down and took out a bottle of water she had brought with her in her bag. Quietly, she poured it into the plastic glass.

Normally, I’d have been slightly irritated at the noise and fact somebody needed to drink anything during a performance, but this time I knew she was really trying to do her best. Thus I felt really sorry for her when the man in front (causing himself more distraction than the poor woman ever had to him) turned and gave her a “Paddington Bear Stare” out of all proportion.

I do admit I enjoy seeing a show within a large invited group of other “theatre people” who know how to behave… BUT… it can get a bit sterile. By that, I mean that we usually hold the show to a far higher standard and are less likely to be impressed – simply because we see so much. It’s quite noticeable that at a “regular” performance the reactions really are more enthusiastic… just, thankfully, not yet Austrian…

Comments are closed.

