Skip to content

Peter and Me

November 7, 2012

A lot has been written about the great director Sir Peter Hall this week, the fact that he fell asleep during a play, woke up disorientated… and was mortified to find that he had said something that was audible on stage.

All I wanted to say was that I’m pretty sure that without Sir Peter, there wouldn’t be a Theatremonkey website. I started going to the National Theatre during his era, and it was a combination of his programming and marketing that enabled me to see a huge range of modern and classic stuff that I otherwise wouldn’t have either considered or been able to afford.

I think I can safely say that it was a “golden era” for the place, and I am lucky enough to say that I met him once. The short chat I had with him about the play I’d just seen (that he’d directed) and the kindness he showed made me feel just that bit more welcome at the theatre ever after.

Oh, and did I say that he was all that despite it being press night and his waiting for the verdicts? It was. So, Sir Peter, when a knight needs a rest, I say it is well earned!

Comments are closed.

