Skip to content

If I could have written only one book

January 29, 2010

“The Catcher In The Rye” would have to be pretty close to the top of the list. For my generation, it sat with “The Breakfast Club,” “Beverley Hills 90210” (the original, not the current mess), “On The Road,” “American Graffiti” and “The Last Picture Show” as insights into how our peers across the pond thought and behaved.

Best of all, thanks to Salinger’s sensitivity to celebrity, “Rye” remains one of my few memorable books unpolluted by Hollywoodisation. No overpaid phoney proto-junkies will pretend to be Holden, Phoebe and the rest… and let’s hope his estate will keep it that way. Thank you, Mr Salinger, and goodbye.

Returning to the book I did write (and for which Mr P is open to film offers – I’m thinking Clooney playing me, perhaps a CGI for Mr P) it was a relief yesterday to test its advice again and find it works fine. 50 stunning “all green” seats secured with a group bookings clerk in under 5 minutes. No fuss, no long negotiation, no deviation from the “booking groups” advice section of the book. Phew!

Comments are closed.

